is this real life?

21 Oct

listening to: the “rapprocher” album by class actress

i have never felt so loved and lucky in my life as i did this weekend. also, i had never felt more surprised, shocked, or hoodwinked by anyone. and i loved it!

i know normally i try to make some grand deduction about life that applies in some higher order sort of way. but today i feel more about talking about how wonderful it is for love to be reaffirmed.

friday night, i spent from 6-12 out at a haunted house, where i was volunteering with my classmates here at the school house by scaring paying customers – proceeds going to the wounded warrior project. i dressed up as a vampire, only because at the halloween store all of the other costumes for ladies were “sexy _______” (enter almost anything in the blank)… and also because i wanted to wear a wig (i chose a short black bob cut). but, i knew that i couldn’t have my cell phone out in the pitch black forest, because i would be spotted and the illusion of horror would be ruined. so i told my handsome boyfriend, chris, that i wouldn’t be texting him for the next many hours due to haunting (and chris, i lover of halloween, would understand). but at the end of the night he had never wrote back, which was a little fishy in my mind, due to our day long conversations. but i also knew he had been up until like 3 in the morning the day before studying for a biopsych exam, so i assumed he had passed out and was fast asleep.

around 1 i got back to my warm room, took a shower, put on some warm clothes, and lay down to go to sleep. sometime later (it was only like half an hour later) i was woken by my cell phone buzzing right beside my ear. i propped myself up on my elbow and looked at the caller, and it was chris! i was overjoyed to get to talk with him. so i answered the phone and we said hello, and shortly there was a knock on my door. i first was scared, and whispered to chris “there is someone at my door…” and then remembering my position here, i thought it might have been one of mine who was in dire need of something. i immediately grew into a rage, because i was so overjoyed to be talking to chris, that i didn’t want to deal with something else.  i opened the door, peeved, and it was my tall handsome chris. standing right there with a big goofy smile on his face. and i stared at him for a moment and said “it’s you” and threw my arms around him.

it was him.

i was convinced this was all a dream, so i sat on my bed for a moment. and promptly fell off. then i realized i looked crazy in a very non-attractive sleeping clothes situation (i was cold, remember!) and i had a mask on my face in a vague attempt to clear my skin. while he stood laughing at me and my bewilderment, i went and washed my face. it probably took me about 20 minutes to get my mind around what was happening. chris and my good friend fred had worked this all out for the past month or so! i had been totally hoodwinked!

later, when the weekend had come to a close (we had an incredible time together – but i could go on for ages about him, so that’s no surprise lol) i thanked him again for flying all the way down here from new york to spend just a little weekend with me. and he responded with “that’s what love is”. this gesture of chris’s love for me could not have come at a better time. i spend a lot of my time telling people that true love is there, and the right person will find you, and everything will just fall into place. and chris went on and proved all of the things i tell my friends about what they deserve.

and for the first time in my life, i know that i have found my person.

my other half, my christopher.

 

3 Responses to “is this real life?”

  1. Tricia Graham October 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Very sweet, Annie! You deserve all the happiness.

  2. Kimberly Cale October 21, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    So so wonderful and precious and fun!

  3. Hoopie October 21, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    I cried.

Leave a Reply

