eyesight

2 Mar

listening to: the album “i speak because i can” by laura marling

great news, followers! i can see! i can see! probably the most monumental day in my recent history (or all of my history) was on the 27th of february when i underwent LASIK eye surgery! and don’t worry all friends and family, i am just fine and already had 20/20 eyesight the day afterwards and the haze that surrounds bright lights is already fading away. its absolutely incredible! when i go to bed at night i feel like i have to take contacts out, but then remember “my eyes are doing this all on their own!!” i also remind myself that i no longer have to partake in this ingrained habit due to having thrown away anything that resembles glasses or contacts or contact solution. 

the most exciting thing is that i now can see across the lake, it is no longer an unknown land, it is concrete and beautiful. i am just incredibly thankful that i had the opportunity to correct my eyesight. and i am also thankful that i have such a supportive net that encourages and supports me. my roomie took time off of work to sit with me and drive me home and deal with me in my nervous state. my soldiers picked me up from my house the next day for my follow up appointment and then one of my nco’s drove me home after it. i’m lucky that i have no one rushing me back to work or any negative vibes. i’m lucky that i am part of an organization that allows me to fix my eye sight free of charge and improve my standard of living. thanks army!  

but with all that, i have no deep reflective comments to make. my life has basically been sleeping and working on christopher’s graduation present. 

but the one reflective comment i will make is that, modern medicine is pretty majestic.

i walked in unable to see my hand in front of my face, and walked out being able to see everything. a miracle!

xoxo,
annie

(something more introspective will come later)

Image

 

3 Responses to “eyesight”

  1. Kimberly Cale March 2, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    Lasik is definitely miraculous! So so filled with joy for you! <3

  2. Marilyn Niernberger March 2, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Know how you disliked glasses and contats. NOW you can be free of them and SEE!!!!Love yoy, Grammy

  3. Marilyn Niernberger March 2, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Hi! Thought I proofed this response-“-contacts and you.”..You’d think spell check would catch it. Oh, well. Just your G. letting you know that I can spell. HA!

Leave a Reply

