new year’s resolution

1 Jan
today is the first day of the new year! wow! looking back at my year, i’ve had a pretty fantastic one. fantastic and globe-hopping and full of love. this summer i went on a romantic and fantastic vacation to rome with christopher, and i began my african adventure in july. i’ve been in seven different countries, three different continents, and slept in three different “homes,” pretty crazy.
 

anyway – this is the first year in a while where i have actually set up a resolution for myself. 

being away from my normal life and my “at home” job have really done wonders for the way that i see the world and my associated priorities. i love my job here. i have loads of job satisfaction, i feel like i make a difference, and my boss here is great. at home, i have none of that. i would come home from work and cry, i would dread coming in in the morning, my jaw was locking up from stress. i was a mess, i thought i was a resilient person, but it turns out that i’ve never been faced with very much adversity in a workplace environment. i would keep this job here in africa forever, if i could have my family and friends with me. but reality has struck, and my time here is up very soon. which has got me worried about the future and my job life. 

unfortunately i am not in a field/situation where i can just walk up to my boss and dramatically yell, “i quit!” rest on my laurels for a little, and then start the job search again. i am thankful for having a job, but i am not thankful for being miserable all of the time. so i have proposed a change in my life – by way of new year’s resolution!

this year, i resolve to improve my mental and spiritual health. 

we were exchanging resolutions at breakfast today and someone asked “well how are you even going to quantify that?” and i said, “easy, the less i cry after work, the better of a job i am doing at my resolution.” 

here is my plan: 
1. make it a habit to go to church every week. i wouldn’t consider myself particularly religious, but i always feel more calm and self centered after sitting in mass for an hour and listening to someone preach love and happiness. 
2. i’m going to attend yoga once a week. another hour of centering myself can’t hurt. i’ve already had a reaffirming sign: i searched for yoga classes in my area, and one studio offers free yoga on sundays to military personnel! score!
3. on top of that, i’m going to try to take time, every day, to sit somewhere quiet and just sit for ten minutes or some short amount of time to quiet my mind. i want to leave work at work. i don’t want the precious hours i spend on the phone or with my loved ones being consumed by me complaining about my miserable time.

4. i will start up my gratitude journal again. in my last slump, i made it a habit to write down three things that made me smile during the day in a journal before i went to bed. this practice has been proven to make you a happier and more resilient person because you spend your days searching for happy and positive things instead of being a downer. so that can’t hurt either.

i am hoping this plan will make me stronger, so i can be true to myself for the next three and a half years until i can actually quit.

i was told, by one of my peers back at home, that i “needed to bring hope back” to our organization when i came home. i won’t be able to do that if i have no hope within myself. so here i am, hoping my resolution will allow me to be the positive beacon that i used to be and be able to help bring some happiness in the workplace. 

xoxo,
annie

One Response to “new year’s resolution”

  1. ITHAKA January 16, 2014 at 2:13 am #

    Im rooting for you Annie!! Sounds like a great plan :) :)

Leave a Reply

