your body and my opinion

22 Sep

so, once i moved to tennessee, the first thing i did was find a new radio station. i know this isn’t a regularly anticipated thing, but i was so excited since i was finally within listening to distance to the music city! thanks to nashville, there is finally an alternative station (98.3 if you’re in the listening area)! but for my drives to work, i drive out of that station’s range, and into a regular top 20 radio station (the river lol) and that was when i first heard “all about that bass” by meghan trainor. at first i hated it. but, in the spirit of regular radio stations, i heard the song a few more times that day, and here was my train of thought:

1. is she talking about butts? that’s hardly appropriate

2. but it’s catchy! ugh did she just say “junk”?

3. but it’s inappropriate (and then i would change the station)

a few days later, meghan trainor was on ellen and performed the song. so for the first time, i listened to the whole song, thought the choreography was adorable, and then listened to meghan telling ellen about body issues in our world. and from that moment on, every time i heard the song on the radio and the lyrics “every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top,” i cry. seriously. (unfortunately, christopher isn’t a fan, but i continue to listen and build my self esteem lol)

it’s unfortunate that we have all grown up in a world full of photo shop and #OOTD and dieting choices paraded across commercials and advertisements. because although i know i am physically fit (the army tells me since i score well on my physical fitness tests and don’t fail height/weight (i don’t think this helps with body imaging either, constantly being measured and tested)), and fit into a good sized jean, i regularlyย sit here scrutinizing myself (particularly my derriere). well, meaghan trainor has reminded me that as long as i am healthy, i am perfect just the way i am.

additionally, my friend shalela posted this post on her instagram which i thought was particularly perfect for this post:

(3) Instagram at 11.56.36 AM

anyway, i will be here reminding myself that i love my body – it really helps me get around and see the world – and everyone else should too :)

xoxo,
annie

4 Responses to “your body and my opinion”

  1. hmldittgttcoatp September 22, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

    This is beautiful!

  2. Kelley September 22, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    I love that song! I listen to it all the time. Actually – confession – sometimes I sing it to Betty, because she’s a pound bigger than a miniature Holland Lop is supposed to be. She a big bunny. But her mama tells her not to worry about her size. She’s a perfect fluffy little lady :)
    Thanks for the post, Annie <3

    • Anastasia Kristina September 22, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

      dearest kelley, thanks for reading :) and i’m glad that betty, you, and i can all be on the same page lolol

Leave a Reply

