my little brother, the graduate

31 May

dear readers,

it’s been a while since i’ve posted anything on this blog. but last weekend something monumental as occurred! my younger (but much, much wiser) brother graduated from the united states military academy at west point. after a year at the university of pittsburg, nicholas accepted his nomination to west point, majored in philosophy and was the public affairs officer for the honor committee – organizing events at local schools to explain the importance of living an honorable life. nicholas has changed me, my family, and all of those around him by challenging the conventions that define our society and by pointing out the hypocrisy that exists in every day life – allowing us to live in a more true way. i can say all of these doting things freely, because nick doesn’t think i should keep a blog – saying that thinking i’m important enough to impress my ideas leads to an inflated sense of self. which might be true, but i will keep on throwing my ideas out into the internet data warp. i love him, and am so proud of the person he has become. he marches to the beat of his own drum, and lives in such a courageous way that it inspires me to continue working against the grain whenever i see fit. and also, i have never seen him happier:

DSC_0169

look at that smile!

IMG_0965

with my favorite guys!

IMG_0862

nicholas made an amazing speech, explaining the metamorphosis he has undergone while at school and through his words inspired the crowd to be better and to go against the grain. what a guy!

DSC_0268

and then, in a surprise turn of events, nicholas commissioned his best friend, tim!! it was touching

DSC_0281

with my brand new officer brother :) so proud!

DSC_0299

here’s a bomb picture of my daddy wearing both my, and nicholas’ class ring lapel pins. what a proud man!

IMG_0865

and then a picture of nick in his more natural element!

needless to say, it was a beautiful day with a beautiful party and ceremony with my family! so proud of nicholas! i love him!

xoxo,
annie

2 Responses to “my little brother, the graduate”

  1. Dom J May 31, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    Congrats Nikki!

  2. Kimberly Cale June 1, 2015 at 6:16 am #

    We have such exciting and wonderful times ahead, I am one proud Momma! I love you!

Leave a Reply

