oh twenty fifteen

31 Dec
at the end of every year, wordpress sends out a “your year in blog stats” email. it’s very neat. it lists out all of the countries that have visited your site, the days/times/day of the week you get your most hits and basically it just showed me i haven’t posted in the past couple of months. i’ve been busy! i swear. can you blame me?(yes, yes, i know we’re all busy)
but here i am to reflect quickly on 2015, which was without argument, the best year of my life.
in no particular order:
– christopher and i got married on june 27th, 2015. i learned from my wordpress end-of-year email that the majority of my blog traffic came from southern weddings. over a year ago, i signed up to be a guest wedding blogger there. but in hindsight, i kind of wish i hadn’t. looking back on our wedding, it isn’t an event that is meant to be public. it’s for those that love Christopher and i to celebrate our new life together, not for someone to judge my color pallet or favor decision or handwriting style (i tried to teach myself calligraphy to do lots of DIY things, and just ended up reverting back to my personal handwriting lol). but what i can say, is i was so happy to share photos of our wedding after the fact. photos i will cherish the rest of my life!
ac_wedding-bg-490
we have been married a whole six months now, and let me say: being married to your bestie is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. i have a partner in crime, someone to share the every day with, someone to help prep for dinner via chopping too many things, and a shoulder to lean on when times are rough. i am such a lucky girl. i’ve married into a wonderful family (hi wallaces!) that also loves my family (we all got together for thanksgiving in Colorado) and doesn’t judge me for not having changed my name or being very opinionated on almost all subjects. all they seem to care about is that i love their son, which i do – very, very much.
ac_wedding-fam-126
– because of #apluscbestdayever i was able to have the friends reunion that i’d been craving for a couple of years. one of the worst parts of friends life (compounded with growing up in the military) is that all of my best friends i’ve made growing up live all over the world. but for the wedding my top 5 favorite women journeyed to nashville to be with me the week before the wedding. two made the trek from across the atlantic! never have i felt so much love than knowing they’d be there by my side. ALSO my best friends from college were able to meet my besties from high school, and as it should be, everyone clicked. so much love and joy and oversized American-dining portions. (if any of you are reading this, i miss you very very much <3)
ac_wedding-bp-250
– i’ve worked my job for a full year! that’s a long time in the army. i don’t think i’ve ever worked the same job for such a long amount of time (not counting my 4 month stint as s6). it’s been really nice having my own office, and being able to take care of an office full of great soldiers. recently, i was able to take a couple of week trip to the middle east. that was a neat opportunity since the only other time I’ve been out of the country for work it was for those six months in uganda (which was awesome and i’d like to go back to visit). i also graduated from the jump master course! which was hard, but rewarding and a good opportunity to campaign for equal rights for women/our ability to do the same thing to the same standard. also on the work front, i have less than a year and a half left in the army! hooray!
IMG_0129
– i took the GRE! this was a big step for me, because this upcoming fall i will start applying to post-graduate programs to hopefully enroll in following me leaving the service. it’s exciting and also a little nerve wracking looking forward. one thing i can give the army is it is a solid pay check with great medical/dental benefits. it is also very easy to do a good job (but with the potential of high risk situations) – but i want more of a challenge and i want to more tangibly feel like i am helping others in my work life.
– christopher and i honeymooned in costa rica and loved every moment of it! we learned how to surf and ate homemade smores by the fire and basically unwound and played in the water like little kids. we even had a tree-top private villa with a hammock. it was paradise!
IMG_5704
– my baby brother graduated west point, went to BOLC, and then moved near me! we now work on the same army post and get to visit loads more than before. i am super thankful to have him nearby, which was one of my favorite perks of this year.
DSC_0175
– for halloween, christopher, nick and i all dressed up as our favorite star wars characters! i went out on a limb and dressed up as rey (this was before episode VII premiered, so i didn’t yet know the extent to her awesomeness) – it’s awesome finally having a star wars character i look like haha. and chris went as obi wan and nicholas as the bad ass han solo. it was a great night lol
IMG_3057
– i had a super fun girls weekend in asheville almost a year ago with kitty and devin. we took a beer tour, learned all about the whole process, ate a lot of delicious food, and caught up with one another. i very much recommend everyone visiting that beautiful city (and also with your best girl friends lol)
IMG_8880
– when christopher and i got married we agreed to alternate thanksgiving and christmas in between each of our families every year. this year we planned thanksgiving with the wallaces and christmas with my family. the past few years, the wallace family has spent about a week at the beaver creek resort in colorado when it opens its slopes, so that is where we went this year. after we started making our plans, an invitation was extended to my side of the family and was accepted! so both chris and i’s nuclear families (and his aunt and uncle) all spent the thanksgiving break together in the mountains, shredding the slopes, and sharing a big delicious thanksgiving meal together. it is still so special to me that everyone is able to share their time together and (at least appears) to be getting along marvelously :). i’m so lucky!
IMG_3339
-continuing on with holidays, we had our last christmas in tampa! my daddy has a new job in virginia, so mom and him are migrating in that direction. part of me will miss the palm trees, and year round pool/beach access, but the other part of me can’t wait for the potential of a future snowy christmas (if el nino goes away, of course).
IMG_3654
– i almost totally forgot my girls weekend/bachelorette party in savannah! my favorite kit and her lil sister hoopie and the rest of the ball ladies really made that weekend super special for me! lots of presents and cupcakes and alcohol and wandering around savannah with them. it was perfect and i’m so thankful kit made that all happen for me!
 IMG_9867
– this year has been a continuation with my love affair of nashville! 2016 will be our last full year here before we make our first big married move in/around may of 2017. like Christopher said last night while we watched the legend of kora in series – “if 2016 is half as good as 2015, we will be in for a treat.”
i can’t wait! but for tonight, we will be out to a fancy dinner and then roaming around broadway with nick, tim and danielle – hoping for clear skies and pretty fireworks! have a great new years eve everyone!
xoxo,
annie
2 Responses to “oh twenty fifteen”

  1. Kimberly Cale December 31, 2015 at 4:11 pm #

    Yes, t was quite a year and what a wonderful review! I’m looking forward to the sweetest things in 2016! I love you forever!

  2. kit December 31, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

    💗💗💗💗💗💗💗

Leave a Reply

